The Lost Days

Book One of The Denial, Part III of The Killing Game Series

Fiction - Intrigue
304 Pages
Reviewed on 06/15/2016
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

The Black Rose is an author, photographer, and filmmaker. Born in Chicago, she currently resides in New York with the love her life, her Hokkaido Dog, Kuma. She began writing at the age of seven and dabbled until she woke up one day and simply had to write a novel. She has two 5-Star reviewed novel series.

She categorizes her writing very directly - interpersonal relationships: people's feelings, thoughts, emotions, and the intimacies between two people that truly love each other despite the circumstances surrounding them. "I write about love, honor, and doing the right thing, even when it seems disadvantageous, even when it's not the popular path to take." She sees her writing as a gift from God, and appreciates and learns from her stories.

Her writing passion stems from her immense love for art, which began with drawing at age five and moved into oil painting by age eight. Her love and study of photography soon became a professional passion, and she spends hours photographing and laying out her book covers. A sampling of her photography can be found at in the Photography section. Readers can also find on the site "Privé with The Black Rose" to showcase behind-the-scenes insights into her writing, novels, characters, photography, and films.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Romuald Dzemo for Readers' Favorite

The Lost Days by The Black Rose is a stunning opening for the Denial Series, a highly satisfying read with huge promise for readers interested in following a character through different series. I was immediately drawn to Ives, a man in the process of coming to terms with the loss of his wife, but one who’s lured into a deadly trap. When the story starts, the protagonist is reliving dramatic moments with his wife, falling into a trance-like kind of daydreaming. The conflict moves swiftly from the personal reminiscences of the important moments with his wife to the interpersonal level when he is made an offer to join the intelligence of a secret and powerful German organization. His curiosity aroused, he initiates an investigation and what he discovers could rip his life apart. What follows will surprise readers.

Ives is the kind of character who is hard not to fall in love with and it is important to see how he quickly moves from being a blasé daydreamer to a very active character, pursuing a course of action that is as unclear as it is dangerous. The book is packed with intense action and readers will undoubtedly be drawn in from the very first page. The writing is equally captivating, fluid, and laced with engaging descriptions and dialogue. The Lost Days by The Black Rose is the kind of story that will grab the attention of anyone looking for a thriller with high level intrigue. The plot is fast-paced and the author leaves no room for guessing. Readers will find this story highly entertaining and utterly absorbing.

Ruffina Oserio

The Lost Days by The Black Rose is Book One of The Denial Series, a dark story featuring powerful themes and intrigue. It is a very gorgeous and well-crafted introduction for a series, a story that is as exciting and thought-provoking as it is well-written. Readers will be introduced to compelling and believable characters, a high level kind of intrigue, and a gripping story with surprises at every turn. Ives is a man who takes things very seriously and when his wife dies he is covertly presented with an intriguing offer: become a member of the intelligence unit of a German political organization. But what are the stakes? What is there to lose? Although Ives isn’t enthusiastic about the offer, he’s intrigued and can’t help wanting to know more. So he starts to dig deeper into this secret organization, but it’s a path of no return and soon he will be fighting for his life as he gets closer to the truth.

The Lost Days is written with powerful prose and plot-driven dialogue. The author plunges the reader straight into action from the very start of the book and the action only grows in intensity as one reads on. The Black Rose is a master in the art of storytelling and knows how to build tension in readers. The story begins with the protagonist’s daydreaming about his wife, Allina, and this immediately registers a high level of psychological conflict that will permeate the entire book. Although I hate stories that open with dreams, this one allows readers to immediately get a glimpse of the turmoil in the protagonist’s mind, a promise of the multi-layered conflict developed masterfully throughout the story. This is a book I will recommend for its entertaining quality.

Arya Fomonyuy

The Lost Days: Book One of the Denial (Part III of the Killing Game Series) by The Black Rose is a beguiling tale of intrigue and dark secrets. Ives isn’t yet done grieving the death of his wife, a death that happened in quite unusual circumstances. As if he hasn’t got enough on his plate, he is made a curious offer to be part of the intelligence for a secret German political organization. Curious and intrigued, Ives wants to know more about this group before making any commitment, but his investigation could be the start of the journey towards his death.

The Lost Days: Book One of the Denial (Part III of the Killing Game Series) is a well-written book that combines elements of a page-turning thriller, the gripping style of suspense, and the investigative character of crime fiction to deliver the kind of entertainment that will entertain a wide audience. The story is so skillfully conceived and masterfully written to keep the reader turning the pages till the very last one. I was fascinated by the author’s prose, which is very descriptive. Ives is a compelling character whom readers will follow until the end of the book.

The author does a wonderful job in creating a pervading sense of mystery throughout the novel, and at each turn the reader has unanswered and crucial questions that make him turn to the next page automatically. The plot is fast and embellished by powerful literary techniques. Whoever is behind the pen-name of The Black Rose is a master entertainer.