Cries of the Savanna

An adventure. An awakening. A journey to understanding African wildlife conservation.

Non-Fiction - Animals
474 Pages
Reviewed on 08/25/2022
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Sue Tidwell is a multi-award-winning author, owing to an adventurous spirit and thirst to explore wild places. That passion took her to the Tanzanian bush where she was infected with an extreme case of African fever, a condition that grips a person's heart like a vice and never lets go. In her multi-award-winning debut title Cries of the Savanna, Tidwell is determined to light that fire in the heart of her readers as well. Tidwell lives in rural Idaho with her husband Rick who tolerates her endless obsession with the faraway land. When not pining for Africa, Sue can be found atop a paddleboard or engaged in her latest outdoor excursion.

Awards:
2022 Reader’s Favorite Gold Medal Award
2022 Kindle Book Review Non-fiction Semi-finalist
2022 Professional Outdoor Media Association’s Pinnacle Award 2022 The Wildlife Society's Conservation Education Award

    Book Review

Reviewed by Foluso Falaye for Readers' Favorite

Sue Tidwell and her husband's first memorable experience in Africa involved a species that not many would look forward to seeing in their motherland continent: tsetse flies. Getting attacked by possibly infected tsetse flies was one of the many surprises that lay in store for the two Western travelers in the perilous wilds of Africa. Cries of the Savanna depicts Tidwell's unforgettable, surprise-packed trip to Africa's wilderness and the harsh truths she discovered about nature. Her story includes various challenging and memorable experiences, such as hours of being jostled about in a Land Cruiser, trekking miles through the bushes, dodging elephants and potholes, and more. Coming from an American culture that glamorized nature, as she familiarized herself with Africa's wilderness, laws, and dangers, Tidwell discovered that reality is much less attractive than the way it is portrayed on the internet.

Even as an African, I learned a great deal about Africa from Cries of the Savanna - like the role tourism plays in Africa's economy and why some animal populations must be controlled to maintain balance in nature. Apart from being quite informative, this is an incredibly fun, addictive read. The choice of words and sense of humor brought a smile to my face as I read the book, which also contains stories about the author's upbringing in the US and her growing up with hunters, which makes it easy to connect with her. The book provides a fascinating insight into the reality of living in the wilderness of Africa. It's as entertaining as a thrilling adventure movie, yet brimming with enough information to match a documentary film. If Sue Tidwell takes another trip and writes about them, I'm reading that book as well.

Sue Tidwell

After pouring my heart and soul into writing Cries of the Savanna, I am thrilled with the amazing and detailed review submitted by Folusa Falaye’s for Reader’s Favorite. Such praise coming from an African — who knows the continent of Africa so well — means the world to me. My intent was to take people with me on an exciting and entertaining adventure that will awaken them to the harsh realities of living in rural Africa. According to Folusa, Cries of the Savanna did that! Falusa, thank you! Your gift of time to read my adventure and then provide such a well thought out thorough review is SOO appreciated.

Amazon customer verified purchase

Wow, great book!
Once I started reading this book, I couldn’t put it down. Great book!

Reviewed in the United States on November 26, 2021
Verified Purchase

Amazon Customer Verified Purchase

This book is a great read but also an eye opening one. (Reviewed November 27, 2021)

From the very first page I was captivated by Sue's writing. It was both humorous and scary just imaging being in that tent the first night and hearing those cries in the night. As I kept reading, my eyes began to be opened to how we as a society have such an effect on somewhere as far off as Africa. I love Sue's compassion for preserving Gods planet in a way that honors his creation. You can tell she did the work in researching and providing her readers with facts that supported her passion for protecting this glorious land of Africa and all its creatures in a way that you wouldn't realize without reading this non-hunters side of the story. Great read that had me laughing at her goofiness and crying at her compassion for this great land and it's inhabitants!
I was given an advanced copy of the book in return for an honest review.

Amazon Customer Verified Purchase

It's like BEING in Africa!!! Great book (reviewed on November 26, 2021)

This book is fantastic. Tidwell writes with a clear and approachable voice that swept me up and carried me all the way to Africa.
She is well informed on complex issues, and as a safari hunter of nearly 5 years, I found her perspective refreshing. Typically, when I return from Africa, I struggle to translate the social issues threatening the African wildlife to Americans who expect all of Africa to be like the Lion King.
Cries of the Savanna will be a fantastic ambassador for wildlife conservation in Africa while acknowledging what the actual needs of the continent are.
Brava! A charming and well written book!

Paul E Pickering

Thoroughly enjoyable and informative... (Reviewed November 30, 2021

This is a most enjoyable book which transports us to the wilds of Tanzania to join with the author in her boots-on-the-ground experiences of an African hunting safari. Not only is it a well-written and entertaining read but Tidwell, herself a non hunter, presents some well researched and compelling insights into the positive impact of ethical, legal hunting on African wildlife conservation.

Jackson Engel

The most important and entertaining book you will read this year... (reviewed on November 21, 2021)

Heartfelt, hilarious, and inspiring. As someone who has grown up enjoying the splendors of the African bush first hand, I have to admit that I was skeptical of this book’s ability to accurately depict both life on safari, and the realities of wildlife conservation. However, it did not take long for Tidwell to prove me wrong. Chapter after chapter, her genuine passion and intense determination to learn the truth about African conservation oozes from the pages through captivating stories, educational narratives, and intense introspection. Even after a lifetime spent intimately engaged with the topics discussed in this book, I came out of it with expanded knowledge and a renewed conviction to do my part in securing the future of African wildlife. Whether you are a hunter, non-hunter, animal lover, or simply someone looking for a good adventure story, I encourage you to pick up this book and join Tidwell on her journey of discovery.

LLM

Captivating..comical..creative..calling (Reviewed on November 26, 2021)

This author has a creative, spell bounding way with words, taking you along with her on her memorable experiences and thoughts during the big hunts; and then effortlessly tying some of those experiences to her life as a kid in Butler Pennsylvania, her life in Alaska, and her Idaho ranch. You don’t have to be a hunter, or even understand the hunt, to embrace her story and how she papers her views of it all thru a non hunter’s eyes! Highly recommend the read. The cover, the text sized, and the black and white photos throughout make this an attractive book and an easy read!

Marilyn B

Amazing! (Reviewed November 20, 2021)

What an honor and privilege it was to receive an advance copy of Tidwell’s book. Her passion and insight releases the compelling, energetic force of the almighty land we call Africa. A must read to experience profound wonderment, persuasive teachings, heightened senses, emotional challenges and even new friendships. Closing the book awakened my soul and left me thirsting for more. I liked this book, I liked it a lot!

Amazon Customer

Riveting and well written! (Reviewed on November 22, 2021)

Wow! Passionately written and entertaining from beginning to end. I felt like I was actually in Africa experiencing their culture and this amazing hunt! Cries of the Savanna completely blew my mind. It managed to surpass my high expectations AND be nothing at all like I expected. I learned so much while enjoying the journey the author went through. Well worth the read!

Tommy's Outdoors, Amazon customer

An excellent book about the realities of wildlife conservation in Africa. (Reviewed April 25, 2022)

This is an excellent book about the realities of wildlife conservation in Africa. It’s written in the format of an adventure book but it’s backed by a tonne of solid research. It not only takes the reader on a safari trip with the author but also gives facts from scientific research and the history of wildlife conservation on the African continent. If you can only read one book on Africa, make it this one!

Patti Anthony

An awakening! (Reviewed April 24, 2022)

As a non-hunter I never understood a person’s desire to kill the beloved African wildlife ‘for sport’.
Reading Sue’s encounter has opened my eyes to the struggles of the African people living with the dangerous animals we all admire and think are too beautiful to kill. I am amazed by the detailed explanation of the hunting process and how each harvest benefits the many people living in the region. This book is an exciting, informative must-read to get a full understanding of African wildlife conservation and the benefits of Safari hunting.

Dtck Kroll (Nail 47), Amazon Verified Pu

Awesome! (Reviewed May 8, 2022)

This is a book for any person who truly cares about the world…humanity….animals….your children and grandchildren. Regardless of what your perspective is on the hunting aspect….you will come away with a better understanding of the difficulties of life for the African people.

Loving life, Amazon Verified Purchase

Its like you're in Africa with the author. (Reviewed May 10, 2022)

Such attention to detail that you can visualize everything as if you’re there. Learned a lot from this book and the author.

Jan W, Amazon Customer

Balance of big game hunting adventure and conservation. (Reviewed May 11, 2022)

Sue Tidwell captures the important balance between the adventures of big game hunting and conservation efforts. Her writing style is folksy, well researched and easy to follow. . She develops a respectful relationship with her native guides and describes the importance of their work in supporting their livelihood.

Michelle Peterson, Amazon Customer

Without a doubt, one of the most interesting, eye opening and educational books I have ever read! (Reviewed on May 12, 2022)

This book literally takes you on safari in Africa! The detail is incredible and so much information on the conservative efforts that go on there. Truly an amazing book! I couldn’t put it down and highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys the visualization and education a very well written book has to offer.

PJ, Amazon Customer

Africa: its beauty, its challenges (Reviewed May 21, 2022)

Having travelled to Africa on safari a I couldn’t wait to read this book and I wasn’t disappointed !
The author paints a marvelous picture with vivid description from Rocky outcrops , Savannah grassland , waterholes to tree lined rivers while descriptions of those night sounds made me chuckle and took me right back to Lying in my own bed with one eye and ear open all night .
However this is no Simple African adventure story and while the book captivated me I found it challenging at times to read and engage with a tale of trophy hunting of the wildlife I love .
The author hopes to challenge our perceptions and notions regarding wildlife conservation and the book certainly did that for me . The careful research and recommendations for further sources did cause me to look in a different way at the topic and while I don’t think I can ever take part In a hunt with anything other than a camera Sue certainly succeeds in making the reader think about the ways Africa needs to ensure her magnificent wildlife can sustainably exist alongside a growing human population and endure for future generations .

Caroline Hack, Amazon customer

Sue Tidwell has written a superb book! (Reviewed June 10, 2022)

Sue beautifully captured the flora and fauna of a family Safari in Tanzania. While doing so she astutely explains the relationship between hunting and conservation..
This is a book that non hunters would truly appreciate due to her very objective view of the ongoing debate between ethical hunters and the anti -hunting agenda…
Sue Tidwell hit a home run with this FINE tome!!!
Sam Barber— Texas

REH, Amazon customer

Cries of the Savanna is a MUST READ (Reviewed June 12, 2022)

One of the best books I’ve had the pleasure of reading this year. I’m a lifelong hunter, I dream of going on a Safari someday.
This book has something for everyone. If your on the fence about going on a safari, this book is a must read. You will learn all about why folks go on safari and why it’s so important to support the industry.
Thank you for writing and publishing this book.

John M., Amazon customer

Brought back memories of my first safari! (Reviewed June 13, 2022)

Reading the story of Sue's safari in Tanzania brought back a lot of great memories of my first trip to Africa many years ago. Not only was this book very entertaining, but it was highly educational. In addition to sharing the story of her trip, Sue also tells the little known story of the native people in Africa and how well-regulated and sustainable hunting is both beneficial to both wildlife conservation and the average person living there. Highly recommended for both hunters and non-hunters who want to learn the stuff about wildlife conservation in Africa the news doesn't often talk about.

Sig, Amazon customer

A quality narrative, text, analysis, and critical summary. (Reviewed June 28, 2022)

Sig (Signa from She Hunts Skills Camp)
Five Stars - A quality narrative, text, analysis, and critical summary
June 28, 2022
Format : Paperback
One of the things I liked about this book was that so many threads of evidence were addressed. It is a complex read, as the issue itself is complex. Another aspect is that it addressed the issue from the present — and from there, solutions can be addressed and investigated often more thoroughly and efficiently.

Back to the many threads, they were weaved in a wonderful way into a beautiful story, but which entailed critical analysis! The work and thought out into that, or just the talent to be able to thread the lines was a mental labor of love. Who protects the wild areas that no tourists go into? What are the perspectives of those indigenous to the area? Who are the stakeholders? Who are the owners of the outfits and how are the concessions managed? Is there no management at all and wild areas become subject to poachers and encroachers in that vacuum?

The IUCN Specialists, and scholarly articles cited. Being an anthropologist, back when the discipline was robust and welcomed critical and robust debate, I really like that.

But, I also must confess, I like Sue’s story. I like her gentleness. I like her deep observation. Her love of people everywhere. I know Sue as she and I roomed together at a skills camp. She gave us each her book, and I picked it up from day one, and could not put it down. Was she going to address this or that aspect? Each chapter I asked that. And she did, in subsequent chapters, introducing the threads of complexity into her telling and analysis (no, many aspects NOT a narrative—narratives neither critical nor best explanations).

I am saying specifically what they are as I would not do the book Justice.

I am reading it again. I am critical, and was so amazingly captivated by the depth of your research and looking into the problem, your endless curiosity and love shown to all.

Thank you, Sue. So many screechers are ignorant and invest no intellectual curiosity into everything that contributes to success or non-success regarding wildlife management, and conflict resolution between people and wildlife that are iconic species, but which can be dangerous and destructive in ways westerners have not experienced.

It was a deep and exciting and wonderful read. I highly, highly recommend it to those interested in the complexity of the issue/ issues.

Melissa A. Mahood, Amazon verified purch

A great read! (Reviewed July 12, 2022)

The author made a promise and fulfilled that promise in every way! Tidwell manages to capture every emotion with distinct precision as she shares her “awakening” in a witty, fun-loving manner. Although the author will make you smile with many of her anecdotes, her message of the importance of conservation comes through loud and clear. Her reverence for the animals, the people, and the culture of Africa make this a “must read.”

Barbara Lund

Her knowledge of conservation, human conditions of Africa and working together is amazing. (Reviewed July 13, 2022)

Loved this book. I was in the camp in 1998 and her descriptions are spot on. Her guide, trackers and camp staff were the same that we had and her feelings for them were the same as mine, but I'd never be able to write nearly as well. My wife is an English instructor and well read. She really enjoys the wordsmithing Sue uses and noted she would have had the same feelings during the hunt. Especially insightful is Sue's understanding of conservation, human conflict, habitat loss and who pays the bills for each. Rural Africans can be helped, but most of it is being done by hunter dollars which provides the antipoaching rangers and village incentives.

Sheri thom, Amazon verified purchase

One of the most inspiring books I have ever read. (reviewed July 28, 2022)

I am an avid reader. This is one of the best books I have ever read. I have read many safari books but they were all written from the perspective of the hunter. The fact this book was written from the perspective of a non hunter put things in a very different light. The epiphanies Sue experiences during the hunt were compelling. She also provided viewpoints about the importance of hunting in Africa I had not thought of previously. My wife and I have a safari planned in 2024 very similar to the one chronicled in this book. Sue’s accounts of the night time symphony provided by the African wildlife got me so excited for our trip that I can’t sleep! Once I started reading this book I couldn’t put it down. Sue’s writing style is very pleasant. I can’t wait for her next book!

Robin Maree, Amazon verified purchase

The book takes you on a trip to Africa! (Reviewed July 28, 2022)

This is a great read and a great experience! You will enjoy the adventure! ⭐️

Devan Parise, Amazon verified purchase

Easy Read (Reviewed July 29, 2022)

Such a wonderful book documenting Africa It’s a must read for sure!

Julie Duerdon, Amazon verified Purchase

Knowledge (Reviewed August 2, 2022)

As a busy mom I am always feeling the need to feed my brain something other than the mundane. I knew pretty much nothing of conservation and hunting in Africa other than there were greatly differing opinions. Thank you Sue Tidwell for the interesting and fact filled book that made me feel like I could almost carry on an intelligent conversation about the wonders and mysteries of Africa its people and animals, it’s sorrows and successes. Education is indeed the key to understanding and being able to make changes. A well rounded book representing all concerned parties. Bravo Sue and your many friends in Africa. (And Rick)

Amazon customer, verified purchase

Beautiful Message (Reviewed August 6, 2022)

The message of conservation that the book potrays is not only important to the animals that are being managed but critical to the people of Africa who benefit from professional hunting industry. It is a well written and engaging story.

Amazon Customer

Couldn't put it down (reviewed on November 27, 2021)

I had the great pleasure of reading Cries of the Savanna, and I walked into it not knowing anything about African conservation or its hunting. Sue does an amazing job; from entertaining the reader with her own experiences, to giving insight on the events happening across the world, and teaching us about them.
It made me laugh, and it definitely made me cry, and surprised me as I got so emotional and attached to the whole journey.
If you are looking to learn, as well as enjoy a story that is as real as it can get- pick up Cries of the Savanna.

Amazon Customer

Humor and facts make this a compelling read. (Reviewed on November 28, 2021

What a well informed, well researched book. No matter how many times your travels have taken you to Africa, you will learn more about conservation, African customs, and huntings positive impact on the Dark Continent after reading this book! The author lets us in to her most basic emotions and fears with humor and facts. A great read especially for a non-hunter or anti-hunter.

Amazon Verified Customer

Love this book! (Reviewed December 4, 2021)

Loving this book!

Lloyd Welborn Amazon Verified Purchase

A must read (Reviewed December 4, 2021)

I just finished reading this book and I have to say that it is one of the best books I have ever read. I highly recommend this book. The author does an amazing job of taking you on a personal hunting adventure while helping you gain a true understanding of wild life conservation in Africa. A must read.

KAP, Amazon Verified Purchase

A great read! (Reviewed December 8, 2021)

I really enjoyed reading the book. I loved “reliving” the trip to Africa but I learned a lot about conservative also. This book is worth the time spent reading it.

Amazon Customer, Verified Purchase

Wow, Great book! (Reviewed December 13, 2021)

I absolutely loved this book. Not only is Tidwell's writing full of laugh-out-loud and sincere moments, but she also fills her chapters with well-researched and thought-provoking pieces of truth. Tidwell recounts her time spent on a remote, Tanzanian hunting trip through amusing anecdotes and a determination to discover the untold secrets of the far corners of Africa. As a non-hunter and animal lover, I was apprehensive about reading a book centered around hunting and its benefits. However, I was pleasantly surprised at Tidwell’s incredible sense of empathy, depth, and truthfulness. This book highlights the importance of saving Africa’s wildlife and explains how legalized and well-regulated hunting plays a critical role in doing so. I highly recommend this book for anyone who has a passion for wildlife conservation, especially the intricate and sacred wildlife of the African bush.

Angie K, Amazon Verified Purchase

Read this with an open mind and animals around the world will be saved! (Reviewed December 16, 2021)

Absolutely riveting, edge of your seat reading, with factual evidence of how the animal kingdom actually works. If anti hunters can read this with open eyes, ears and minds, they could literally save millions of animals! As a hunter it is often hard to explain how hunting is in fact conservation, and an animals best chance for survival in this world. As a non hunter, Sue recognizes the importance of hunting to the overall well being of animal welfare. She explains it in a beautiful, terrifying and loving way, that I as a hunter wish I could do. Her journey is mesmerizing, with each turn of the page as she takes you along on your very own African safari! 5 STARS

Sue B, Amazon Customer

Humor and facts make this a compelling read. (Reviewed on November 28, 2021)

What a well informed, well researched book. No matter how many times your travels have taken you to Africa, you will learn more about conservation, African customs, and huntings positive impact on the Dark Continent after reading this book! The author lets us in to her most basic emotions and fears with humor and facts. A great read especially for a non-hunter or anti-hunter.

Matt Olson, Amazon Verified Purchase

DREAMS of AFRICA (Reviewed December 21, 2021)

How many of us can say that our dreams have come true? Sue and Rick dreamed of going to Africa, for different reasons, and they made it happen. Growing up with hunters didn't necessarily mean Sue was pro-hunting, and the fact that Rick intended to hunt the gorgeous beasts of Africa, gave her mixed feelings. The questions that are raised about the pros of hunting are thought-provoking. I also learned that animals aren't the only thing that are illegally poached in Africa: wood, honey, charcoal, and bushmeat being the other items. It's also incredible to me the things you can actually get a permit for, like cutting off a rhinos horn; it's baffling to me what humans put themselves in charge of... I suppose it's like having a permit to fish, though. This book isn't just about hunting and the wildlife, it talks about the African people, the government, tourism, and conservation; so if you want to feel smart and worldly, pick up this book. I can't imagine my life holds an adventure like this. And I don't know if I'm fine with that or not.
The best thing about this book is that I saw the author's heart and soul. You can tell when reading a book if the author's heart was truly in it, or if they are just writing a book to say they wrote one. This is the definition of a passion project, and it shows in every word.
And I will say in closing, Tidwell, you did a wonderful job of fulfilling your promise to Lilian.

Kimberly Bryant, Amazon customer

Cries of the Savanna make you feel like you are right there. (Reviewed December 27, 2021)

This book is great! Having been to Africa reading this took me right back there and I love it! Once you start reading you don’t want to put it down.

Kathy, Amazon verified purchase

Entertaining and insightful (Reviewed on December 28, 2021)

Fun, interesting, entertaining read. Loved the thoughts of a non-hunters point of view. Congrats on a successful hunt- once in a lifetime experience.

Annie H., Amazon Verified Purchase

An absolute must read if you care about a deep understanding of modern wildlife conservation (Reviewed December 31, 2021)

Annie H.
An absolute must read if you care about a deep understanding of modern wildlife conservation.
December 31, 2021
Format : Paperback | Verified Purchase
Cries of the Savanna is an absolute must read if you care about a deep understanding of modern wildlife conservation. The author’s voice is that of a non-hunter, and that voice comes from a genuine love of wildlife and wild places…but it addresses what often happens in conservation when simple emotions carry the day, and understanding the real meanings of things is lost. The result is that good-hearted people can do great harm.

Aldo Leopold, Conservationist Extraordinaire, put it this way: “Conservation is paved with good intentions which prove to be futile, or even dangerous, because they are devoid of critical understanding either of the land or of economic land-use”

“When we don't understand what we do, we're at risk of destroying the integrity of the biotic community.”

Leopold’s book Greenfire goes to the heart of the idea that we love wildlife, but to manage it well calls for a deep understanding of all the key elements.

Tidwell puts it in a modern context; and makes it fun to read.

Because Tidwell writes from the perspective of someone who does not hunt, and someone who has a deep love of wildlife, her words speak to the most avid of hunters, and the most avid of animal advocates. Her voice is a search for truth in a world filled with partisan advocacy.

It is also fun, and a celebration of culture, of thought, and of adventure.

Dave Kraus, Amazon Verified Purchase

A learning Process (Reviewed January 8, 2022)

I finished reading this book, and I will admit it was a difficult read for me. Not because of how it is written, because it is in fact very well written; highly accessible, and Tidwell's humor shines throughout. What made the read challenging for me was the hunting. I'll be honest, I still cover my eyes (I have been doing this since "Bambi") when I watch nature movies. Do I agree with and understand everything Ms. Tidwell discusses in her book? No. Yet this is the beauty of a book, any book: One is never required to agree with the words on a page. What is noteworthy about these 400+ pages is the extensive research, interviews, facts, and figures woven throughout the book. In other words, this book is not merely pages filled strictly with Tidwell's passion and opinion. As a matter of fact, she never asks her reader to agree with her stance.

Shawna Kaschmitter, Amazon Verified Purc

GREAT READ (reviewed January 15, 2022)

This is a great read authored by a non-hunter (not an anti-hunter; big difference). Sue retells her experience of the black continent and the emotions associated with her journey as she follows her husbands hunting adventure. The effort she put into this book should open your eyes as to what goes on in Africa. Loaded with FACTS as to why hunting is good for conservation and the economic impact it has everywhere. It's got the thrill of the hunt, humor and she shows how the death of the animals impact her emotionally. I highly recommend this book to anyone that's ever wondered what a wild safari would be like.

JODIE, Amazon Verified Purchase

I am loving this book! (Reviewed January 20, 2022)

I am loving this book! The book has been enjoyable to read. It makes me laugh and feel like I am on the adventure and learning at the same time. It discusses serious issues in a down to earth way that makes me, like the author have many a-ha moments. I love all the author's little side stories about her life. I just laughed out loud on her story about "the fire" at her home. I enjoy all her little idioms, like "I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed" kind of sayings. I am also moved by the love she has for her husband, supporting his passion even if it is not her own. I am almost done reading the book, It feels like I am on the trip and I don't want it to be over!

Storm Catherine, posted on Instagram

"Conservation solutions require opening of minds and the humility to accept that previous emotionally guided opinions (while they may still be personally valid) may not match with the reality within rural situations. There is a common goal that can be achieved by shedding preconceived ideals and working unitedly. Thanks to @suetidwell.writer for her amazing and humbling work, I cannot reccomend her book enough."

Reviews on January 20, 2022

Kindle Customer, Amazon

Loved the Book & Message! (Reviewed January 30, 2022)

I could not wait to crawl into bed at night so I could go to Africa. I loved how I learned about conservation & hunting plus all the funny stories. I now have a different outlook when I see animals mounted on walls. I think most hunters are honoring the animal and and I appreciate hearing about their adventure! I have always wanted to go on a "photo safari" and now its at the top of my bucket list!

Amazon Customer

Hunter and Non-hunter

This is the best common sense book I've read between Hunters and Non Hunters to save the wild life in Africa and USA yet understand the locals that live with the animals. The authors experiences and research is awesome.

This book took me back to the many great memories of my trips to Africa as a Hunter and Non Hunter. The sounds from the animals in the wild and at night in your tents can never be forgotten.

Tim Chestnut, Amazon customer

Insightful look at the role hunting plays in African Wildlife conservation (Reviewed February 8, 2022)

Well written, passionate and insightful discussion of the role hunting plays in wildlife conservation.Very well thought out- from the perspective of a non hunter. I could identify with, chuckle and even get a bit misty eyed evoking powerful memories of my trips to Africa. Inspired, the very best I’ve read!

Becky Jaindl, Amazon customer

I felt like I got to go on my own safari to Africa!

Sue Tidwell’s writing style is so easy to read that you felt like you were there in the wilds of Africa seeing and hearing the animals, some of which I had never even heard of. Learning about the problems and fallacies of wildlife conservation was an eye opener for me. Well done!

Carrie M, Amazon Customer

A true reading adventure!

Absolutely loved it! This book kept me fully engaged and wanting more. I loved how the author mentioned her Pennsylvania roots along with her strong bond with her husband and intertwined it in her story. The research she did for this book was astounding and I learned so much about all the animals! Her developed relationships with the people she met at camp and her vivid descriptions of the African landscape were mesmerizing! I felt like I was there with her! Most of all, it opened my eyes to all of the conservation issues at hand and how hunting and tourism done the correct way is so essential to not only Africa but all countries as well. We need to keep an open mind and get all the facts before we speak too soon... this is so true with everything right now in this world! This book was thought provoking for me on so many levels and I could relate to so much of it. Her sense of humor and the silly words/phrases she used made me laugh out loud during the read. She certainly has held her promise to her Masimba Camp family and more importantly, to herself!

Mary L., Amazon Customer

Very much enjoyed this book. (Reviewed February 23, 2022)

Sue's description of her time in Africa has the reader feeling as if they are there with her. She is enlightening, entertaining and educational about the hunting and conservation and the the perils of the African animals. Very much enjoyed this read.

Randy P., Amazon customer

...Great Book (Reviewed February 23, 2022)

I found Cries of the Savanna to be very interesting and informative. I have never been a fan of Trophy Hunting but the book opened my eyes to a side of hunting I had never thought of before. The author did a great job of making me feel the struggle in her own heart when it came to the death of these animals. She also gives an informative view on the struggles that the people of Africa are going through when it comes to conservation management.

D. MORROW, Amazon Verified Customer

What an awesome adventure! (Reviewed February 26, 2022)

If you ever dreamed of a trip to Africa, this book will take you there. The author does an amazing job of painting the landscape so that it comes alive. Her heart for the wildlife and the people shines through. Great job! Great read!

John Payne, Amazon customer

Outstanding read (Reviewed March 1, 2022)

This book will keep you interested and entertained. It captures the African experience totally from the wild lands to the wonderful and welcoming people. Hunter or non-hunter, this is s must read for anyone traveling to Africa

Marci E., Amazon customer

Gives great perspective to another side of hunting big game. (Reviewed March 1, 2022)

A friend recommended the book as she knows the author. Very informative, learned so much and have a different view about Africa and hunting. Easy to read and didn't want to put it down.

Pennsylvania Customer, Amazon Verified

Definitely an adventure

I definitely went on an Adventure! While reading this book, I felt like I was right there with Sue and Rick. Her passion for the safari and everything that goes with it was commendable. Her information enlightened me about safaris and gave me an informative view of the whole process. Her personality gave it a "can't wait to hear more" atmosphere for me, and a new respect for "the circle of life".

Kindle Customer

AWESOME NON STOP READ!!! (Reviewed March 4, 2022)

Cries of the Savanna is a must read for everyone!!! Whether one is traveling to Africa for a trophy hunt, a photo safari, business, or a social visit, this book will present a much deeper understanding of Africa, it's people, and its wildlife. If one is not traveling to Africa but enjoys a good read packed with adventure, history, and factual information, Cries of the Savanna answers your quest. This book is non-stop enjoyable from start to finish. Sue Tidwell presents her book in a dynamic style of fact, chew your nails excitement, exposure of myths and misinformation, and humor. At days end the book leaves one with a better understanding of Africa's challenge of maintaining a healthy balance between humans, wildlife, and nature. To the point: Sue Tidwell is a marvelous story teller and educator and would present herself well on any faculty, at any university... read her book!!!

Betsy R (Betsy Ross), Amazon Verified

Don't pass this book up, a must read. (Reviewed March 9, 2022)

An educational and magical journey to Africa. An eye opening experience from the beginning. Thanks for taking me with you.

Nick Fasciano, Amazon Verified Purchase

Amazing -- filled with adventure and an incredible perspective. (Reviewed March 18, 2022)

Cries of the Savanna: An adventure. An awakening. A journey to understanding African wildlife conservation.
Nick Fasciano
5 Star - Amazing - filled with adventure and an incredible perspective
March 18, 2022
Format : Paperback | Verified Purchase
Wonderful book in every way. I'm not sure how she did it, but Tidwell managed to write a book about hunting in Africa that I would be equally comfortable recommending to my hunting buddies or to my mother. Remarkable.

The narrative is compelling from start to finish, and it does a great job weaving the adventure in with explanations of the culture, history, the realities of wildlife and wildlife conflict, and putting a personal spin on everything both from her own side but also the Tanzanians from the hunting camp who make up a big part of the story.

There's tons of information in here that a lot of people are going to learn from the first time - whether it's the funding provided by hunting, the huge swaths of the African Continent that are not suitable for photo safaris, the complicated kind of protection that wildlife has had due to Tsetse flies, or any number of other things.

Tidwell’s perspective as a non-hunter is also a very valuable one. However solid the arguments for the North American or African models of wildlife conservation might be, when they come from hunters it's difficult for the public in general to avoid the perception that they're all just rationalizations. Coming from her, a lot of these concepts might find a wider audience.

Her descriptions of the local people will ring true to anyone who has spent time there. I lived in East Africa for about three and a half years, and I adore Tanzanians. They're warm, community oriented, welcoming, and often downright hilarious. It's a joy to be around them, and Tidwell’s obvious respect and affection for the people she encounters shines out from every page.

The book also does an excellent job highlighting the more precarious state of life that exists in that part of the world, the routine dangers people face, and the deeply human side of wildlife management. Getting to know the local people as individuals forces you to see the complexities of wildlife issues through a much different lens. Short of spending serious time over there, this book conveys that perspective in one of the best ways I’ve come across.

Hunters and non-hunters alike will find plenty to love about this one. Buy it and share it with your friends – it’s an important book.

Ted Warehime, Amazon customer

Hunting from a non-hunters view (Reviewed March 26, 2022)

This book takes a deep dive into the controversial subject of big game hunting in Africa. Deals with the social and economic aspects of the native people, the hunters, sight seers and animals. It deserves to be in all the libraries so both pro and anti hunters can have access to it. It’s a great read and very eye opening.

Sadie, Amazon customer

Amazing book! (Reviewed March 23, 2022)

Highly recommend this book for non-hunters as well as hunters!

Elizabeth L. Robertson, Amazon customer

Well documented review of how trophy hunting actually is conservation. (Reviewed April 4, 2022)

I didn’t really have a stance related to wild animal hunting in general. This book seamlessly explains how well managed conservation must include trophy hunting; two ideas that don’t necessarily get along. Wonderfully written, easy read that will lead the reader through opposing ideas that in the end work together. Worth reading for either the hunter or the conservationist. It really opened my eyes to conflict mediation on both sides of a hotly contested set of rules.

Kenny Williams, Amazon customer

The Truth of African Wildlife Conservation (Reviewed April 10, 2022)

Took me awhile to set aside the time to read Sue’s book, but once I did, I was on it from beginning to end with total immersion. Her writing is the best I have read to clearly advance what we all know is true, but struggle to “esplain” to the anti-trophy hunters. I am so glad to have Sue’s narrative for my grandkids, who, as they acquire reading and comprehension skills, will be reading her book alongside the “Disney” version they will undoubtedly be exposed to in school. Well done Sue!

William burgin, Amazon verified purchase

Good Read!

I Really enjoyed the stories of the people involved, and the interactions of the animals.
I also learned some things !

Mike Losiniecki, Amazon Customer

Will be a cherished part of my collection.

I had seen a short excerpt from this book on Facebook. Had my wife order it the following day on Amazon for me. Truly one of the best books I have ever read. Fantastic story telling and loads of information. A great read for hunter and non hunters alike. Anyone who loves nature and wants to learn facts about conservation and the real world should read this book. Look forward to any future writings from this author. A great talent indeed.

Amazon Customer

You will be transported.... (Reviewed April 11, 2022)

I have been collecting and reading books on hunting Africa for about 30 years. The preponderance of tomes in my collection are those covering Africa, dating back to the late 1800s

"Cries of the Savanna" ranks up there in the top handful of books I have read, and, heartily recommend it to anyone who has any interest in the "Dark Continent". Not only does this book cover the thrill of the hunt, but, and more importantly, give the REASON for the hunt. It draws from the hunters personal desires, which we might take for granted, but delves into the political, social, financial/economic as well as ecological reasons to promote "Trophy" hunting.

Written by a "non-hunter" (but not anti-hunter), "Cries of the Savanna" lends great balance and support to a subject near and dear to the hearts of many, while answering questions, here-to-fore, left unanswered.

Pick up a copy of this wonderful writing and another for a loaner.

Daniel E Forter, Amazon verified purchas

Great Adventure! (Reviewed April 23, 2022)

Great story with a more wildlife detail than I ever knew I needed. Loved the personal aspect.

Patricia Fair, Amazon verified purchase

A Non Hunter's Awakening to the Perils of African Wildlife. (Reviewed April 23, 2022)

Great story with a more wildlife detail than I ever knew I needed. Loved the personal aspect.This book appealed to me in many ways . Having been married to an avid hunter for 60 years , I had many of the same feelings and fears as the author How she was able to experience the African adventure and work through these feelings and fears and be so supportive of her husband truly held my interest throughout the book.

Amazon customer

Truth and excellent story telling! (Reviewed April 23, 2022)

Absolutely soaked up every word of this book. Wonderful insight from someone with an interesting perspective. She is a great storyteller as well as a writer, I can feel the insect bites and visualize the African wildlife like I’m there! Highly recommend.


AJ, Amazon Review

I am an avid reader and this is one of the best books I have read in a long time. I have always respected the need for hunting, but like the author I was conflicted about certain species. This was an eye opening book about how animal conservation really works. I am going to encourage everyone I know to read it. Not only was it informative but truly entertaining. I laughed out loud at many times. This well written book is a must read for everyone!

JL Smith, Amazon Review

I just finished your autographed copy of Cries of the Savanna, on loan from my granddaughter. I think you met at the SCI meeting this year. It took me a while to get through it because I was so interested in learning more about your adventure with your husband. Cries of the Savanna is so well written and thoughtful of the communities in Tanzania and of the wonderful animals they share their lives with. I have several friends who are big game hunters and I was never impressed with their trophies hanging on their walls. Your experience opened my eyes to the importance of “thinning” out the herds so to speak to provide much needed sources of food, clothing, safety and beyond for the communities of Africa. My granddaughter has been to Botswana twice, and once as her last semester in college. She and her fiance’ plan to honeymoon in Namibia Africa. I admire the work she is doing to help educate people like me about the importance of understanding African wildlife conservation. Your book reinforces that.

Julius Fortuna, Facebook Review

For those unfortunate souls who have not bought a copy of this uniquely brilliant conservation book that describes the devastating plight of African wildlife today (Africa’s population will triple by the end of the century even as the rest of the world shrinks) alas take heart for the cost of a McDonald’s dinner, you can help educate those friends and family members who despite multiple attempts at the same old rational still do not understand hunting’s impact on conservation in Africa.

Sue has put together a bridge (over troubled waters) that carries non-hunters over the deep social contagion waters called “social science” onto the right path of understanding! Understanding that hunting a tiny renewable resource has saved and continues to save our precious wild places from the plow… not to mention those magnificent creatures that require that land to survive.
I have one question for you and if you answer NO, buy her book ASAP and learn how to solve this dilemma of the defense of African hunting.

QUESTION- Do you find it easier over the last decade to persuade anyone of a differing opinion to change their mind? I would bet that 95% of you reading this post have people in your lives right now that you respect, or love whom you’re prayed would someday see the light on our tradition

Cries of the Savanna is that light, get it for that loved one and spread the message as there has not been an African conservation message like hers in decades…I promise you!

SIDEBAR- Time is not on our side in this fight!