Volume 1

Children - Fantasy/Sci-Fi
312 Pages
Reviewed on 10/05/2015
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Robin co-authored Oldenglen with his father, Michael. Robin is continuing The Oldenglen Chronicles series himself, and published the second book, Lone Wolf, in April, 2016. The third book, Rogue Wolf, was published on April 25, 2017.

Robin was born in England. The story behind Oldenglen came from the time the family was renting a large estate in British Columbia, Canada, many years ago. As a young boy, Robin grew up with the written word. Michael would read to him every night, including such works as the Narnia books, Wind in the Willows, the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. The Oldenglen Chronicles is effectively the result of that upbringing.

Oldenglen won a Silver Medal at the 2016 IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards for The Bill Fisher for Best First Book: Children's/YA; Second Place in the Reader Views Literary Awards 2015/2016 for Teen - Age 12 - 16; and was a finalist in The Wishing Shelf Independent Book Awards.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite

Oldenglen, Volume One is a young adult and preteen fantasy written by Robin Mason and Michael Mason. Jackson Wolfe is not at all impressed with his parents’ decision to move from the London flat where he’s lived all his life to the woods of southwestern Oregon. As they drive away from the airport and continue travelling on for miles and miles that finally terminate in dirt roads that seem to wind on forever, his previous dismal outlook seems positively sunny compared to how he feels when they finally arrive at the low and sprawling stone house in the middle of nowhere. While his father, who had been raised in the area, prattled on about the age of the house and it having been a summer place for a wealthy family, Jackson wonders what they were trying to do to him anyway. As there was nothing to do, however, and they were hours away from Portland and any signs of civilization, Jackson resigned himself to exploring the acres and acres of woodlands that stretched behind the rental house. He freaked out a bit when he saw a large, furry face with golden eyes contemplating him once, and wondered if the large and unusual paw print he discovered was made by the face’s feet, but somehow the woods and outdoors seemed to get under his skin, to become somewhere he wanted to be or even where he seemed to belong.

Robin Mason and Michael Mason’s young adult and preteen fantasy, Oldenglen, Volume One, is a spellbinding and enthralling read set in the virgin forestland of Southwestern Oregon. I loved watching as the city-dweller in Jackson Wolfe woke up to the enchantments of the outdoors. This fantasy is original, and the plot is filled with discoveries, interactions between mankind and wild creatures, and harbingers of a dreadful plot to destroy the Glen. The Masons’ writing is smooth, assured and perfectly matched to the mood and mystery of the story. I’m looking forward to reading Volume Two of this series, and wonder what will happen to Jackson, Sarah and the Glen next. Oldenglen, Volume One is highly recommended for anyone who loves fantasy.