The Advocate's Justice

The Advocate Series

Fiction - Mystery - Murder
329 Pages
Reviewed on 03/30/2019
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Teresa Burrell has dedicated her life to helping children and their families in both the courtroom and the classroom.

As an attorney in San Diego, Burrell maintained a private law practice for twelve years, which specialized in domestic, criminal, and civil cases. Her work in juvenile court focused on representing abused minors and juvenile delinquents. Burrell has received several awards and special recognition from the San Diego Volunteer Lawyers for her countless hours of pro bono work with children and their families.

Burrell has also enjoyed a satisfying career as a teacher. She has taught children of all ages with diverse backgrounds and special needs. After creating an after-school program that kept kids off the street, she received a community service award.

Now in semi-retirement in California, Burrell continues to educate groups about social issues impacting children and write novels, many of which are inspired by actual legal cases. She is the author of The Advocate Series which now contains ten novels: The Advocate, The Advocate's Betrayal, The Advocate's Conviction, The Advocate's Dilemma, The Advocate's Ex Parte, The Advocate's Felony, The Advocate's Geocache, The Advocate's Homicides, The Advocate's Illusion, and the newest release The Advocate's Justice. Teresa has recently started a new series with a character from The Advocate's Felony called Mason's Missing.

Burrell also has three children's books that are fun for the whole family--Gaspar, the Flatulating Ghost, Gaspar Meets a Bully, and Gaspar Flies a Kite.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Anne-Marie Reynolds for Readers' Favorite

The Advocate's Justice (The Advocate Series) by Teresa Burrell is a murder mystery. Sabre Brown is an attorney with a job on her hands – to save Conner from a life behind bars. Fifteen-year-old Conner is accused of murdering Bullet, his grandma’s abusive boyfriend. The evidence is there; the boy did it. Things aren’t quite as straightforward as that, however. JP Torn, investigator and Sabre’s boyfriend, is Conner’s uncle and JP is about to come face to face with a brother he hasn’t seen in years. Sabre and JP settle into the investigation and the list of suspects grows as lies and sordid secrets come to the surface. JP's family has created a complex web that JP and Sabre must untangle to get to the truth.

The Advocate’s Justice (The Advocate Series) by Teresa Burrell is a great book. I haven’t read any of the Advocate Series until this one but I’ll be reading them now! The story has plenty of twists in it, as well as dead ends, red herrings and lots of action. It is a story that starts as it means to go on, right in the thick of the action and it doesn’t let up until the last page. The characters are developed well, considering how far through the series this is, and I feel that it could be read as a standalone story. The suspense builds and I thought I had it sussed early on – turned out I was wrong. Every character – from Conner, to his sister Morgan, from Muriel to Roxy, and a whole other cast in between – played their parts to make this a really good story, ideal for anyone who likes murder mysteries and legal stories; it’s made me want to get the rest of the series and read them all.