The Ghosts of Curmudgeon Avenue

Curmudgeon Avenue #4

Fiction - Humor/Comedy
296 Pages
Reviewed on 04/16/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Samantha Henthorn was born in 1970something in Bury, England; where she has lived her entire life. Readers who enjoy Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes, Nick Spalding and the Bridget Jones's Diary series will enjoy her writing. Her books include the contemporary comedy-drama series set in Whitefield, Curmudgeon Avenue. The historical fiction '1962' (An Uplifting Tale of 1960s Lancashire), the short story collection 'Quirky Tales to Make Your Day' and the novella 'Piccalilly'.

She has two cats, one dog, one gorgeous grown-up daughter and one husband. When not reading or writing, she is listening to heavy metal (particularly the grunge years of the early '90s). Samantha would be thrilled to bits if someone read - or listened to her books.

Samantha had a twenty-year nursing career in the NHS, working both in hospital and community settings in Salford. After a diagnosis of MS in 2005, she eventually accepted early retirement in 2014. Looking for a career where she can work for herself within a paced routine, Samantha remembered her love of reading and drew on her observation skills and imagination to start writing. Samantha often feels as though she is living in a sit-com and this is reflected in her style.

Samantha looks after her condition by attending physiotherapy, hydrotherapy, sleeping whenever and wherever possible, wearing sunglasses indoors, avoiding emotional vampires and enjoying life as much as she physically can.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Ankita Shukla for Readers' Favorite

The nincompoops are back in the fourth book of the Curmudgeon Avenue series, The Ghosts of Curmudgeon Avenue by Samantha Henthorn. In a wild twist, the side characters of the previous books are in the limelight. However, this does not mean that Edna, Edith, and Harold have disappeared. On the contrary, they are everywhere now. Well, at least Edith is! Edna is despondent at the absence of Genevieve from her afterlife. Harold has declared that he and Edith are "technically" no longer married. Nevertheless, Edith is too busy getting Ricky and Wantha back together to bother about his declaration. Speaking of being bothered, Harold has his own share of paranormal interventions to worry about. Someone he cannot see is pushing him to reveal the truth about the elephant accident.

Number One Curmudgeon Avenue has opened its doors to its new residents: Gordon, Zandra, and their twenty-seven-year-old daughter, Krystina. And with the arrival of these new people comes a brand new set of opportunities for Edith to meddle with. In fact, Wantha, Francesca, Patchouli, and Toonan have all made Krystina's sad love life their mission. Of course, their meddling would only be a wacky experience. Even the house is worried about the future of Krystina. The ludicrous elements of the Curmudgeon series, like "longer than necessary" conversations, Edith's "dinner plate face," and Harold's smell, remain the highlight of The Ghosts of Curmudgeon Avenue.

Samantha Henthorn is a genius storyteller. She understands her audience and remains loyal to their interests. Mrs. Ali, the gossip queen, has "given up gossiping," and Zandra is "working from home." And yet, they are doing just the opposite. Zandra, one of the new additions to the storyline, is as droll as the others. Her superficial manner of addressing Harry, the Bastard, as "Mr. Bastard" earns a chuckle every single time. To the dismay of its characters and the entertainment of readers, Number One Curmudgeon Avenue is more crowded than ever. There are more paranormal activities than even the ghosts of the house could fathom. A must-read for quirky humor lovers!