American Heart of Darkness: Volume I

American Heart of Darkness: Volume I

The Transformation of the American Republic into a Pathocracy

Non-Fiction - Gov/Politics
454 Pages
Reviewed on 11/18/2013
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (Goodreads, B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Bob Kirkconnell was in Vietnam from February, 1968 to August, 1969 and provided airlift support for American combat troops during the siege of Khe Sanh, the battle of Hue, and the battle of the A Shau Valley. He received a Bronze Star with combat "V" for heroism during the second Tet offensive in February, 1969, while attached to the Korean Tiger Division, Qui Nhon, Republic of Vietnam.

Later he was a logistics systems analyst investigating fraudulent travel on military aircraft, and he planned and organized Joint Chiefs of Staff directed Air Assault Training exercises. Another significant assignment was to the Presidential Airlift Wing where he received letters of appreciation from President Jimmy Carter and Secretary of State Cyrus Vance. He started writing about some of his experiences that were at odds with U.S. stated objectives in 1998, which led to his first book.

He is married to Leila (Majaj) Kirkconnell and their children are Lynley, Marcy, and Brian. They also have six Grandchildren and four Great Grandchildren. Bob and Leila are both retired high school teachers.

Activist groups they belong to include: Metis Nation of the South, Veterans for Peace, Academics for Justice, Jewish Voice for Peace, Union of Concerned Scientists, the American Civil Liberties Union, Green Peace, the Wilderness Society, Amnesty International, and many others. Leila and Bob have participated in many demonstrations opposing the current invasions and occupations.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Natasha Jackson for Readers' Favorite

Growing up in America means there are a few things we all undoubtedly know, the first of which is that America is the greatest country on earth. Then, we are the richest with the greatest military might the world has ever seen. The things we thought we knew, Robert Kirkconnell takes apart with facts and figures akin to a surgeon’s scalpel. American Heart of Darkness takes a look at the cold, hard history of the United States in order to determine how she and her inhabitants ended up on the path to destruction. They say those who don’t know history are doomed to repeat it, and Kirkconnell unearths the dirty secrets and the true tales of the most famous and infamous events in our history.

What makes American Heart of Darkness so much more than the ravings of a disillusioned patriot is the precisely documented and astutely presented evidence from the CIA’s dubious role in introducing drugs to American soil to the JFK assassination to racism and the impact the Civil War had on society even at this current date. Starting with his own personal experiences with America’s dark heart in Vietnam, Robert Kirkconnell tackles some of the most important events in American history and presents them through the lens of the truth. By the time you have finished this book, neither blinkers nor rose-colored glasses will continue to be an option. You will see that the events that lead to the current economic and social problems we face are not simply a product of poor governing or bad luck, but rather a carefully orchestrated plan to enrich a small few at the expense of the country and her citizens.

James McDonald

Empire, JFK, Nam, 9/11, WMD, babys on the floor mixed with Coke/Heroin to hide the crime, SCAD: State Crimes Against Democracy, November 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Heart of Darkness: Volume I:The Transformation of the American Republic into a Pathocracy (Kindle Edition)
I most strongly and most highly recommend this astonishing work. 6/24/14 jmd

Edited: After reading additional books that eventually dovetail on what Kirkconnell's work has got to tell us, I've not been able to find anything as remarkable as what I have read in American Heart of Darkness.

This publication has given me personal validation as I fall down the rabbit hole. It's difficult to express my profound satisfaction reading this work all while being overwhelmed with uncontrollable waves of painful and profound sorrow feeling for my nation when one starts to understand what this all means. But, I and a growing segment of American adults have started to understand that the only way to correct the mess, is to understand how it got that way in the first place.

Mr. Kirkconnell's work has indeed presented an exceptionally detailed account, documenting evidence that helps the reader to see the wide-ranging actions of some the nastiest and murderous evil "human beings" that are dead set on destroying everything in their path for their own personal glory, profit and total control. To achieve this, they will kill you, me and anyone else that gets in their way. I will note very specifically, this includes the Constitution of the United States. If you are able to recognize that the Constitution of the United States is something more like a warning to all generations about worldwide evil infecting governments and societies, you'll understand why there's an increasing polarization that includes honest fear and anger against not just my government, but that it's worldwide.

Leila Majaj

Riveting! Can't ignore the truth when it smacks you in the face.
July 3, 2013
Format: Paperback
The author of American Heart of Darkness, Kirkconnell, unearths the skeletal remains of this country's history in an attempt to exhume this buried history and analyze the cause of its demise. Kirkconnell takes us back to the roots of the war hungry, greedy, and politically corrupt entity we've become; uncovering truths we purposely averted our eyes from along the way.
Kirkconnell presented well documented and compelling evidence for the cause of our current moral, social, and economic bankruptcy that is neither a coincidence nor bad luck but in truth, a carefully and meticulously planned succession of events by sociopaths and psychopaths running this country at the helm and behind the scenes.
This book in not for the week of heart nor for those who insist on keeping blinders on. It is for those of us who seek the truth in an attempt to not let history repeat itself.

Mary Deem

Revealing!
July 4, 2013
Format: Paperback
Not for the weak of heart. A real eye-opener for truth seekers. We have been fed lies. This author cites facts and figures that cannot be disputed. Anyone who survived the 60's will feel compelled to read this book. The author has done solid research and great investigative work. A book every American must read.

Robert P. Morrow

Very well written book explores the dark side of America: JFK assassination, the CIA drug trade, imperialism & genocide
By July 17, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Buy this book!
The author is an extremely intelligent and well read intellectual & independent thinker. Notice that this book is self-published by Xlibris and also understand you are getting work of the highest quality that can stand with anything put out my major publishing houses or anything in the alternative media, and quality boutique publishers such as Trine Day & Skyhorse.

The author has credible chapters on the JFK assassination; he is obviously familiar with the best research. Other topics are CIA drug smuggling, imperialism, genocide (which everyone wants to forget about when it comes to the USA), mind control programs and other examinations of the "heart of darkness of America.

The author's claim to fame is that when he was in the military in the early 1970's, he was one of the investigators into somebody (CIA or military) who was shipping heroin back to the USA from Vietnam in the body cavities of dead GIs. The author goes into great detail on that stunning story.

This book is a gem and you will learn the meaning of ponerology.

MarcyLB

Thoughtful, inspired, and told by a participant in the system
September 6, 2013
Format: Paperback
Always looking for an "insider's" perspective on current events and their causes. This book does just that and offers insight to several issues facing Americans today and even tomorrow. Two thumbs up.

Jacques Paquinon

What a great book
February 16, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
If you want to have a better look at the US history, going from the Vietnam's war, to JFK and who are the real masters of the game, you must read this book.

The author gives us very good data and info on what really happened on these times and the Why of that, that is totally heartbreaking to learn that. But if we want to stop that but must be informed that this kind of things exist.

Anthony

Into the Heart of Darkness
April 9, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
What happened to America, in fact what happened to the world we live in?
The Author provides us with an answer. Drawing of the work of Andrzej Lobaczewski (1921-2007)
a Polish psychiatrist we are faced with a grim truth. The world has been subverted by
a psychopathic elite who see the world and it's inhabitants as something to manipulate,
overcome, and exploit for their own self-profit and self-interest.
Psychopaths have no conscience, image the relationship between the predator and it's pray,
well that's sort of how they view the rest of us. It's the reason why we can't use moral reasoning or some such condemnation, they don't care for it, they don't understand it. They are like Lobaczewski wrote, germs that don't understand that they will be destroyed along with the host that they are exploiting.

bossaboy

A truly excellent synthesis that helps make sense of the most critical events of our time
January 12, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Having read tens of thousands of pages on national security issues, intelligence, economics and militarism, as well as psychology, anthropology and U.S. and world history, I found myself thinking, "we need someone to connect all these dots!"that it took me many decades of research to connect. Robert Kirkconnell in this work "connects the dots" and does so in a clear well reasoned and well documented presentation that allows the reader to the critical "relationships" between events, policies and propaganda that have together brought humanity to the precipice we teeter on today. You can gain this understanding the way I have, that is spend forty plus years reading tens of thousands of individual history books, investigative histories, declassified documents, newspaper articles, etc., OR you can read this book and gain the same basic understanding of these critical relationships. You can then do your further research on the topic areas that most draw your interest. I cannot recommend this work highly enough because it is a synthesis of the most important events and information all citizens of the world need understand to be able to take stock and understand the world we live in. I look forward to Mr. Kirkconnell's second volume and I highly commend him on this scholarship and analytic abilities in putting this first volume together. As my intro to psychology professor told me 45 years ago, "we have plenty of people doing excellent research," "what we lack are people able to synthesize that research and connect the dots." The author is an excellent "dot connector!"

Fredrick H. Burlakoff

A must read....
August 22, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Awesome review of American history that sadly one will never find in any contemporary history book or mentioned in the modern mass media. I could not help but draw a comparison between Mr. Kirkconnell's book and Oliver Stone's The Untold History of the United States. One major area that Oliver Stone did not touch upon was the white genocide of the native American populations. I had NO idea how bad it was until I read this book. There were many new things I have learned from reading this book. Mr. Kirkconnell certainly has his finger on the pulse of American history.

Daniel DeLafe

Psychopaths rule the world!
August 30, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The hard-hitting truth! This book will dispel all the fairy tales you were taught in school about "the land of the free". From the earliest genocidal, racist, and militaristic seeds sown through European colonialism, all the way up to the bitter fruit these seeds have produced that is today's American Empire, Kirkconnell lays all the cards on the table. In this book you will find an exposition of the cold reality of the CIA drug-trade, covert coup de tats, proxy wars, political assassinations, consistent violations of international law, and military profiteering. You will be taught how war is a business, and how wars are deliberately manufactured and provoked for profit, and given a description of the inner-workings of the secret government who rule behind the scenes, as well as a brilliant analysis of the JFK assassination carried out by this secret elite. Although he wasn't perfect, JFK pushed back against this power structure and tried to redirect the country away from the direction we have now headed in, and his assassination was the "final nail in the coffin" of the American republic, heralding the full-fledged take-over by psychopathic leaders who rule behind the scenes through the banking cartels and the world of intelligence agencies, the prison industrial complex, arms dealers, and the military industrial complex. What makes Kirkconnell's book unique compared to other books that deal with these topics is that he factors in the up-to-date psychological research about pathological personality types, the worst of which is psychopathy, that is, individuals that current research indicates are born without a conscience (read Dr. Robert Hare's book "Without Conscience"!), incapable of experiencing the full range of human emotions, which explains A LOT about history in general and why the world is the way it is. He specifically factors in the groundbreaking, yet little-known theories of Andrew Lobaczewski as described in his book "Political Ponerology," which details how psychopaths are capable of taking over groups, large or small, and even entire nations, and by their influence corrupting the halls of power and even the masses themselves, creating what Lobaczewski calls a "pathocracy," that is, a pathological society ruled by psychopaths. If you want to know the true history of this country, and of the deep relationships between psychopathy, war, debt, and drugs to the establishment and maintaining of empires, then get this book and STUDY IT! It will open your eyes, and you'll never look at the United States the same again.