Mathematics Of Eternity

Joe Ballen, Book One (Joe Ballen series)

Fiction - Science Fiction
328 Pages
Reviewed on 12/20/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Vincent Dublado for Readers' Favorite

Mathematics of Eternity is the first book in the Joe Ballen Series. In the tradition of Blade Runner and The Fifth Element, author David M. Kelly takes us to a bleak, high-tech future and introduces us to Joe Ballen. Joe used to work in space or was part of the industry until an accident confined him to driving a flying cab. When the scientist Hubert Ganz boards his taxi and falls to a gory death, Joe gets entangled in an investigation and a conspiracy involving a Jumpship, and it becomes his ticket to get back into space. In a futuristic time where the world is in decline, and there is a constant tension between Earth nations and Atoll representatives on Earth-based extra-orbital operations, Joe is about to discover that people are getting murdered over the prototype Jumpship. He needs to get to the bottom of the mystery while being labeled as a fugitive cab driver on a scientist killing spree.

David M. Kelly is erudite with his descriptions that are injected with humor in certain situations. Moreover, he effectively defines character not only by the way they look but by the way they speak. At the beginning of the novel, Joe thinks that Ganz is just the typical, intoxicated passenger he encounters every now and then. When he breaks his policy of not talking to his passengers and Ganz replies to his small talk, you know that some sort of twist is about to happen. As the initial installment in a series, Mathematics of Eternity has the right blend of mystery, high-technology, and action, and it is easy to see this book made into a movie—not all sci-fi novels can be easily pictured as such. Mathematics of Eternity is a great read and thoroughly entertaining.