Operation Oversex

A Sci-Fi Action Satire Comedy

Fiction - Humor/Comedy
194 Pages
Reviewed on 03/25/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Tammy Ruggles for Readers' Favorite

Operation Oversex: A Sci-Fi Action Satire Comedy by Anthony C. Robinson is a laugh-out-loud take on sci-fi action inspired by Sexmission, a 1984 Polish film with a cult following. If you're in the mood for a funny book or are a fan of satire and parody, treat yourself to this clever offering. Reminiscent of Naked Gun, Spaceballs, and similar comedies, this one is pure fun. You'll find some dark, sardonic humor along with the adventure, and a lot of tongue-in-cheek moments. Fans of MAD Magazine or Austin Powers will get the joke. The title can be a little misleading as there is some romance, but not a lot of overt sex. You'll find plenty of courage, excitement, and attitude. The story begins with lead characters Chad O'Connor and Tyrone Jackson being put in suspended animation for three years--guinea pigs basically--scheduled to wake up in the year 2030, but they wind up waking up in 2083. The world they wake up to is post-nuclear, and they are the last two males on Earth, thanks to a deadly virus that claimed the male population. Women run all of society now. In the beginning, it seems like heaven to the pair, but it eventually turns into an existence from hell, and a fight to survive.

This book has wit and surprises, and Robinson wisely starts with describing the two main characters, Chad and Tyrone, explaining how they were selected for the suspended animation project--one is an expert in physiology, the other is in top physical shape--both bringing his own strength to the process. You might expect a funny book to pay more attention to the comedy, but Robinson's attention to detailed descriptions and character sketches shows he is concerned about the overall quality and impact of the book. You'll be surprisingly invested in the story itself, not just waiting for punchlines or comical situations--although you'll find that too, of course. Though this kind of humor isn't for everyone, it's hilarious if you like quirky, offbeat humor, even if you aren't familiar with the source material, Sexmission. Operation Oversex by Anthony C. Robinson is a book any fan of sharp wit, a fun play on sci-fi, and edgy humor will enjoy.

Susan Sewell

Participating in an experiment exploring the effects of suspended animation, two men awaken years later in a society of women in the humorous post-apocalyptic novel, Operation Oversex (A Sci-Fi Action Satire Comedy) by Anthony C. Robinson. Agreeing to be experimental subjects in a three-year hibernation sleep-study, Tyrone Jackson and Chad O'Connor are placed in suspended animation. Awakening from their extended slumber, Chad and Tyrone discover more than half a century has passed while they slept. In the meantime, a nuclear war decimated the earth, and even more alarming to the two men is that a post-war pandemic wiped out every existing male. Excited by the prospect of being the only men living in a world of beautiful sexy women, Tyrone and Chad are thrilled by the possibilities. But can their fantasies become a reality? Or will they have to fight to keep their manhood?

Provocative and profound, Operation Oversex (A Sci-Fi Action Satire Comedy) by Anthony C. Robinson is an entertaining dystopian novel depicting a despotic culture where men are despised and reviled. Comparable to the Polish cult classic comedy film, SexMission, it is a sensational novel that is a satirical portrayal of a totalitarian society. With allusions to the realities of a communist society, the antagonist's regime parallels the communist bloc governments prior to their fall. The combination of totalitarian politics and feminine beauty creates a civilization of Feminazis, which has a humorous effect on the two protagonists. Including an audacious plot, comical situations, enterprising main characters, and paradoxical villains, it is a captivating novel that will amuse and delight everyone who is a fan of parodies.

Pikasho Deka

Operation Oversex is a satirical dystopian romp set in a future where men have become extinct, and the world is ruled by an all-women society. Anthony C. Robinson's humorous and fun-filled ruckus of a novel follows the adventures of two men named Chad O'Conner and Tyrone Jackson as they come to terms with living in a world devoid of men. After being put in hibernation in 2027, Chad and Tyrone wake up in 2083 in a post-nuclear world where they find themselves at the mercy of women who are ruled by an authoritarian regime led by the Union Party. Chad's and Tyrone's only hope for survival lies in the hands of the sympathetic Rachel Green. Meanwhile, the duo must avoid castration or worse to secure the future of men.

Operation Oversex is a fast-paced pulp adventure that never lets its entertainment levels drop and keeps you absorbed through constant bouts of humor and action. Although the premise seems unrealistic and a bit over the top, Anthony C. Robinson manages to not only weave a highly entertaining tale but a unique one at that. It is one of the weirdest books I've read this year. I think part of its charm is that Operation Oversex never seems to take itself too seriously. The characters are colorful, and the difference in personalities between the two main protagonists made their dynamic much more intriguing. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I would recommend Operation Oversex to readers who enjoy movies such as Death Proof and Planet Terror.

Vincent Dublado

While Operation Oversex draws its inspiration heavily from a cult Polish film classic, author Anthony C. Robinson will find himself facing both new and old audiences so that he may well take on an exciting comparative study. Chad O’Connor and Tyrone Jackson volunteer for a ground-breaking human hibernation experiment that will put their bodies in stasis for three years. O’Connor is aiming for instant fame and recognition in his community, while Jackson is trying to beat child support. As science is not perfect, the experiment goes awry, and the two went into hibernation longer than expected. They wake up in a post-nuclear world where they are the last two remaining men. Women have no more need for men, and they are capable of reproducing through parthenogenesis but that only results in female births. O’Connor and Jackson now feel like strangers in a strange land, and they risk losing their members from a procedure of naturalization. But then there is hope—a hope that requires tampering with the parthenogenesis process.

Operation Oversex will likely stir snowflakes to scathing remarks, but from a critical standpoint, Anthony C. Robinson’s points are clear. You will not perceive this book as malicious propaganda. It is simply a satirical tale about the protest against arbitrary powers that control society. Under the sci-fi-humor genre, Robinson exposes contradictions in contemporary society, much like what the film Sexmission did in 1984 with its layered political undertones. This is not a story that questions the capacity of women to run the world, but rather, it points out that any good intention built on lies and deceit is bound to crumble, regardless of who is at the helm, as pragmatism evolves into totalitarianism. You will see the point, and if you are familiar with the film that inspired this book, you will make comparisons. But for a sci-fi comedy, Robinson’s writing does justice to his own version.

Rabia Tanveer

Operation Oversex: A Sci-Fi Action Satire Comedy by Anthony C. Robinson is the perfect combination of action, science fiction, and romance. The future is female, and it is now. When Tyrone and Chad agreed to become a part of a human hibernation experiment, they expected to wake up three years into the future. However, they opened their eyes in the year 2083. The nuclear war had destroyed earth, nothing was the same, and they were the last men alive on earth. The Union had an iron-clad grip on everything and everyone. Chad and Tyrone knew the only way they could protect their lives, and manhood, was by running away. When they did, they joined forces with a resistance army with a unique plan to overthrow the Union. What seemed like an easy job turned into something a lot more dangerous. They had to put on their big boy pants and figure out a plan to make it out of this mess alive. Would they be able to do it? Or was there a catch?

Anthony C. Robinson struck the perfect balance between romance, humor, drama, and action. Some instances were a little predictable, but that does not mean they weren’t fun. The author did an excellent job of creating situations that were believable and fun to read. The narrative was intense, it was fast-paced, and the action was always present. There was never a point in the story where I felt the author overdid anything. Chad and Tyrone proved to be strong and resilient characters. None of them was comic relief; they were just two very enigmatic, funny men who were stuck in the wrong place at the wrong time. The descriptions of the war-ravaged world were on point, each character had a purpose, and the overall story's feel was entertaining. I would highly recommend this absolutely brilliant novel to everyone.