The Clay Remembers

Book 1 in The Clay Series

Fiction - Womens
360 Pages
Reviewed on 04/01/2015
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Sharon K. Miller is an author, freelance writer, and editor. The Clay Series has been a long-time project for which she has done extensive research into the archaeology and prehistory of the Tucson Basin and the history of the the Spanish entrada into Southwestern United States. Her own affinity for the Sonoran Desert helped to create the character of Anna, the protagonist of the first book in the series, The Clay Remembers.

In her work as an editor, she specializes in working with authors who wish to self-publish print and e-books. As owner of Buckskin Books and Writing and Editing Services by Sharon, she offers editorial and writing services across a broad spectrum, including editing at multiple levels, book and cover design, and preparing digital manuscripts for e-publication and print manuscripts for print-on-demand technology.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Heather Osborne for Readers' Favorite

The Clay Remembers by Sharon K. Miller is the first novel in The Clay Series. Anna Robinson has a strong connection to the past. While at college studying archaeology, she meets Foster, a well-to-do man studying the same subject. They marry, Anna feeling very spoiled by the lifestyle Foster can offer. However, all is not as it seems. Her marriage is increasingly oppressive, with Foster controlling her life completely and not allowing her to practice her skill. In fact, he is violent, subjecting her to physical and sexual abuse if she defies him in any way. Fearing for her safety, Anna flees, travelling to Tucson, Arizona, and taking a job with an archaeology company working on a dig site in the desert. She meets new friends, including a forensic anthropologist, Nick. Filing for divorce, Anna cannot shake the nagging feeling Foster will hunt her down and seek retribution for disobeying him.

A beautifully composed novel, The Clay Remembers was a pleasure to read and review. Ms. Miller has done a great deal of historical research on a unique topic, all the while weaving together a fictional story surrounding it. I loved the romantic undertones as Anna learns to accept others into her life. I felt the friends around her really empowered her to stand firm in her decision to leave Foster. I felt pride when she stood up to him. I also enjoyed the historical aspects of the novel. I feel that learning about the people of the past is just as important as learning about greater historical events. I look forward to reading the next book in this series. The author should be immensely proud of this work of art.