Almond City Ashes

A Wrenn Grayson Mystery

Fiction - Mystery - Sleuth
395 Pages
Reviewed on 02/12/2022
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

Author Biography

Connie Chappell is a bestselling author of literary fiction and literary mystery. A lifelong resident of Springfield, Ohio, she devotes as much free time as possible to anything out-of-doors. Flowerbeds, golf, walking, and bicycle riding are particular favorites.

She is the author of the Wrenn Grayson Mystery Series. Wrenn Grayson is a historian and archivist in her hometown of Havens, Ohio. Best Thrillers claims "Wrenn’s one-of-a-kind investigative process will have readers flipping pages in her fast-paced mysteries." Chappell take readers into the world of small-town Ohio with its unique combination of local charm and unexpected intrigue. Blending history and modern-day sleuthing, these novels provide a delightfully witty cast of new and returning characters.

Her novel, Every Cloud, is a humorous family drama, packed with mystery, romance, and fun. Readers will find “the plot engaging and paced with great skill, moving between characters’ individual stories in order to expertly keep you engaged at all times.”

The Wild Raspberries Trilogy is complete. These deeply emotional family dramas tell stories of love, loss, and second chances. They have touched the hearts of readers all across the country. The titles are: Wild Raspberries, Proper Goodbye, and Summers Only.

Chappell is the recipient of many writing awards and honors. The Ohio House of Representatives presented her with a commendation in 2019, honoring her writing skills.

Her characters are bound to captivate readers till the very end. All of her novels are standalone books that may be read in any order.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Renee Guill for Readers' Favorite

Almond City Ashes by Connie Chappell is a cozy mystery novel. It is book five in a series but works as a standalone. Historian Wrenn Grayson lives in the small town of Havens, Ohio. She was invited to the Foundling Estate and was asked to write a memoir of her grandmother’s best friend. While she was there, she found out the Historical Society members, who own Foundling, were on a treasure hunt. There was also someone from her past who was murdered, but Wrenn was the main suspect because she did not have an alibi. So, she and some of her friends had to solve the case. Wrenn didn’t trust the police because of a previous incident.

I really, really loved Almond City Ashes by Connie Chappell. I had become bored with cozy mysteries because I was always able to figure it out before I was half-finished. This was not the case here. I was surprised that the murder was not in the beginning like I was used to. But, Connie Chappell had a couple of other mysteries going to keep you occupied. I loved the treasure hunt idea. The map was a great idea. Even though the world-building was really well done, the map still helped. I think I loved Clay the best; he would be someone I would love to date. I was happy that I was wrong about a couple of characters. I was right about another character but for the wrong reason. The twists and turns were really fascinating. If you love treasure hunts and cozy mysteries, I highly recommend this series.