The House of Prophecy

The Chronicles of Chaos Book 2

Young Adult - Fantasy - Epic
387 Pages
Reviewed on 10/11/2022
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Glen Dahlgren is the award-winning author of the acclaimed book series, the Chronicles of Chaos, which fantasy legend Piers Anthony called "what fantasy fiction should be."

He is a two-time winner of the Readers' Favorite Gold Medal for YA Epic Fantasy for both his debut novel, the Child of Chaos, and the prequel, the Game of War. The former also won the American Fiction Award for Epic/High Fantasy and the latter also won the Dante Rossetti Award for YA Fantasy.

Glen has also written, designed, directed, and produced critically-acclaimed, narrative-driven computer games for the last three decades. What's more, he had the honor of creating original fantasy and science-fiction storylines that took established, world-class literary properties into interactive experiences. He collaborated with celebrated authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman (The Death Gate Cycle), Robert Jordan (The Wheel of Time - now a TV series from Amazon), Frederik Pohl (Heechee saga), Terry Brooks (Shannara), and Piers Anthony (Xanth) to bring their creations to the small screens. In addition, he crafted licensor-approved fiction for the Star Trek franchise as well as Stan Sakai's epic graphic novel series, Usagi Yojimbo.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Cecelia Hopkins for Readers' Favorite

The House of Prophecy by Glen Dahlgren starts with a dream sequence where Galen attempts to convince his mother, Lorre, to return to her body. The world is changing as the magic that powered the old order has gone awry. Galen no longer knows which side to trust. He is moved to help Min and considers joining the Harbingers. Together with his sister Myra, he searches for prophecies that will allow the child of Chaos to live. Along the way, he makes the horrifying discovery that Lorre, Eve, the prophet Sturmin, and countless other children have been horribly abused. The future depends upon Lorre making a second decision, and Galen battles against the fanatics who seek to control her.

The House of Prophecy by Glen Dahlgren is a scintillating work of high fantasy. The book contained a lot of special touches that added to the excitement of the reading experience. I absolutely loved the inset motifs, tiny illustrations, and meaningful section headings. The character of Galen was courageous and tenacious, determined to save his mother and right wrongs to the best of his ability. I also liked the fact that he was not infallible. The plot was complex, as characters could be turned and begin serving the opposing side. I appreciated the fact that the moral compass of the tale did not revolve around belonging to the correct faction, but prioritized operating from the heart and making free choices. I enjoyed reading The House of Prophecy by Glen Dahlgren as a stand-alone story, but it is also part of a series, and this book indicates that all the volumes would be interesting.