Strawberry Sorbet

A Noir

Fiction - Mystery - Sleuth
26 Pages
Reviewed on 03/14/2016
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Landon Wake is the alter ego of Korey L. Ward (the author of the Shadow Seeker Series) Wanting to stretch out from the Young Adult genre, Korey L. Ward created Landon Wake as a way of exploring themes that is for a more mature audience without confusing his Young Adult readers. In the vein of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Joe Hill, Landon Wake brings to you a world of Mystery, Suspense, And Terror.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Jessyca Garcia for Readers' Favorite

The short story Strawberry Sorbet: A Noir by Landon Wake is an entertaining piece. The story takes you back to the days when gumshoes and dames roamed the streets. When Detective Richard Hankins decides to take on Ms. Scarlett Strawberry’s case concerning her husband, he realizes he may just have found the Lamplight Slasher serial killer. The same killer that killed his son.

Strawberry Sorbet: A Noir may be a short story, but there is a lot going on in it. Wake wrote this story like an old fashioned detective novel, from the way Detective Hankins talks to the way Ms. Strawberry acts. I was taken back in time to when Dick Tracy was the in thing. Every scene I read I imagined in black and white. The story is very short, but Wake is able to move the action at a fast pace and not leave out important details.

I love surprise endings in stories and Wake did not disappoint me with his ending in this one. I sincerely hope that this is not the last I hear of Detective Richard Hankins. I can tell that his character has a lot of baggage that this story has not even begun to touch. I can only imagine what else is in store for him. If you enjoy old fashioned detective stories, then you should read Strawberry Sorbet: A Noir. Hopefully, I will read more of Detective Hankins’ adventures in the future. Landon Wake has gained a new fan in me.