Three Brothers of Ansgar

A Windflower Saga Novella

Fiction - Short Story/Novela
102 Pages
Reviewed on 11/10/2017
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Aleksandra Layland is a retired civil engineer and federal civil servant who worked primarily for the United States Air Force as a senior installation engineering manager responsible for buildings, airfields, infrastructure, fire protection, and emergency preparedness. She also served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in the Western Caroline Islands where she helped build school classrooms and cafeterias, low income housing, and simple village water distribution systems.

    Book Review

Reviewed by K.J. Simmill for Readers' Favorite

Creator of worlds and weaver of tales, Aleksandra Layland has done it again in yet another wonderful tale, Three Brothers of Ansgar,  A Windflower Saga Novella, Book 26. Two years have passed since the death of King Ansgar. Kapa'a, Borgumik, and Koritane (Kori), are his three youngest sons, still in the grip of youth when their father was taken from them in a tragic accident. Enjoy three stories within one gripping novel as you follow the uniquely different path each brother chooses.

I first came across the three brothers - Kapa'a, Borgumik, and Koritane - when I read Ansgar: Struggle of a People, Triumph of the Heart. This is now the third title I have read by Aleksandra Layland and I still find myself amazed at the sheer depths of the world, people, and culture. The author breathes life into a magnificent setting enhanced by vivid characters and captivating plots. Stories within stories unravel as you follow each of the three brothers as they move toward their unique destiny. Whilst each journey is short, they each change the world in their own way, and the ripple effect of such choices will surely be seen by all to some degree. 

Aleksandra Layland has a clear flair for this style of work, succeeding in whisking the reader away to page after page of character driven adventure. You don't read Three Brothers of Ansgar, you live it, and having read the book prior to this, as well as one that occurs some time later, I can in all honesty say this author continues to hone their craft.