The Seventh Medallion

Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy, Book 3

Fiction - Fantasy - Epic
298 Pages
Reviewed on 10/23/2015
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Tom Hoffman received a B.S. in psychology from Georgetown University in 1972 and a B.A. in 1980 from the now-defunct Oregon College of Art. He has lived in Alaska with his wife Alexis since 1973. They have two adult children and two adorable grandchildren. Tom has been a graphic designer and artist for over 35 years. Redirecting his imagination from art to writing, he wrote his first novel, The Eleventh Ring, at age 63.

The Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy and the Orville Wellington Mouse adventures are multi-leveled stories which have been compared to Chronicles of Narnia, The Hobbit, and Neverending Story. The books have underlying themes of ethics, metaphysics, philosophy, quantum physics, and spirituality. A common theme is the idea that there is no magic, only science we don’t understand. The books were written to provide an alternate way to view the world we live in. To see all life as a single force, all life equally precious, no matter the form. A world where violence is not necessary, a world where the protagonists are changed forever by their difficult choices, by their own sacrifices. A world of empathy, kindness, and love. And of course, ten foot tall ancient robotic rabbits and gigantic carnivorous centipedes living on post apocalyptic planets!

    Book Review

Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite

The Seventh Medallion: Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy, Book 3 is an epic fantasy written by Tom Hoffman. Oliver, Bartholomew, and Edmund the Rabbiton have found themselves on yet another quest. This time it's at the request of Madame Beffy, Oliver’s love interest and the baker of the world’s most exquisite eclairs as far as he’s concerned. Her father, Arledge Rabbit, has been missing for over three years. He too was an adventurer and explorer who had gone off in search of a legendary city in Opar, which he believed would be a treasure trove of ancient tech. His journal was recently discovered and delivered to Beffy by a ragged prospector, who said he found it in a cave in central Opar. Clara and the treasure hunting mouse-team, Thunder and Lightning, are on their own mission: to help Thunder’s long-lost mother find the medallions that will help to save the universe.

Tom Hoffman’s epic fantasy, The Seventh Medallion: Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy, Book 3, is an exhilarating and rollicking adventure tale that chronicles the obstacles, perils and challenges the two sets of questers face. One group is involved in a rescue adventure, while the other is racing against time to save the universe from destruction, and the two stories merge together beautifully. While it’s obviously a reader’s option, and Hoffman includes just enough detail from the previous books in the series for stand-alone reading, I would most strongly recommend that readers new to the Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy read them in order. The author lovingly crafts his characters and the worlds they inhabit, and the progress each character makes throughout the trilogy is inspirational and moving. While the series is solid epic fantasy, fans of steampunk should seriously consider reading these books: there are tantalizing glimpses of ancient tech and daring adventurers and engineers who know how to make that tech work. I had a marvelous time reading The Seventh Medallion: Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy, Book 3. It’s most highly recommended.

Lit Amri

Lybis, a seer and a member of the International Quintarian Science Guild, discovers that a small but dangerous object, the Black Sphere, is expanding. Soon it will reach critical mass and absorb all life force. Seven like-minded scientists joined forces to form a secret alliance and hid the Black Sphere to prevent it from being used as a weapon. Each scientist received a silver medallion. When all seven medallions are united, the location of the sphere would be revealed. Lybis instructs her son Thunder to take his silver medallion back to Quintari and join it with the other six medallions to find the sphere. In the meantime, Bartholomew travels to the lost city of Cathne with Oliver and Edmund the Rabbiton to search for Madam Beffy’s father. Together, Bartholomew and his companions must solve the riddle of the deadly Black Sphere before it brings an end to their universe.

Having read Tom Hoffman’s first book from the Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy, I was reminded how fascinating this series is. Book Three from the series, The Seventh Medallion, continues to emanate this quality. Hoffman provides a wonderfully constructed arc in the plot, be it character development or the balance between humor, adventure or idealistic viewpoint, all delivered with flawless prose as expected. Both readers who are new to this series or who have followed it since Book I would definitely enjoy it, for Hoffman has provided enough to keep anyone engaged. On the whole, another irresistible read from the series.

Ray Simmons

It’s hard to know where to begin in describing The Seventh Medallion, but first I will say this is an amazing piece of literature. It is the third book in The Bartholomew the Adventurer Trilogy. I have not read the first two books, but I plan to recommend the series to all the young readers I know. The characters are mice and rabbits, which I think will make the story that much more fun for young people. When I saw the intro to The Seventh Medallion, I thought I was getting something along the lines of Watership Down, which I loved, but this epic by Tom Hoffman is a bit more. There are several layers to this story and all of them work well; however, I think it is the deft usage of the animals in human situations that makes The Seventh Medallion so special.

I was alternately reminded of Star Wars and Star Trek as well as tales from Norse, Greek, and Indian mythology. There is a very metaphysical side to The Seventh Medallion, but it doesn't get in the way of the sheer fun and adventure of Bartholomew, Edward the Rabbiton, Hoppy the grasshopper, Thunder, Lightning, Clara, Oliver T. Rabbit, and a host of other colorful and delightful characters as they set out to save the people they care about and the entire universe as well. The Seventh Medallion is a wonderful and magical tale which will delight generations of readers for years to come. Tom Hoffman has created a classic.